adding sass to life



stop the madness

Excuse me?  Hi…umm…hello…will the idiot person who is in charge of radio advertising on KFI AM 640  please stand up?  Hi, it’s you?  Perfect.  May I ask you a very simple question?  Great.  Why the heck did you think it was a good idea to play Christmas music during a commercial in between segments on the Dr. Laura show on Friday?  I was sitting in my car, minding my own business, eating a very delicious chicken taco (yes, I was eating in my car alone, don’t judge me) and listening to Dr. Laura.  I was daydreaming about what my life would be like as a brunette when I felt like I was hit in the face with a baseball bat.  “It’s the most wonderful time of the year….” started lightly floating through the air mixing with the smell of my chicken taco.  At first I thought, “Oh yea!  It’s almost Christmas!”  And then, “Wait, it’s July, right?  Well the thermometer in my car says 87 so, it’s definitely not December.”  And then, “What the crap?  It’s freaking July!  Get this madness off the radio!!!”  Yes, I am sure you think you are oh so very clever with your whole “Christmas in July” ad.  But, guess what?  Joke’s on you.  I was so distracted by the fact that it is July and it is definitely NOT Christmas that I don’t even know what you were trying to get me to buy.  Probably a new mattress, or car, or security system for my $2.5 million dollar home, that I do not have.  Maybe I am a little more bitter than I have to be, because I don’t think that it was your fault that after work I went to Nordstrom and they just happened to have their pre-sale for their anniversary sale and I got to pick out sexy tights and beautiful sweaters that, again, was a reminder of the fact that I cannot wear any of these clothes as, “It’s the most wonderful time of the year…” was still echoing through my mind.  And it may not be your fault that when I got home the ice cream truck was driving through our neighborhood and blasting out of it’s 150 year old rusted speakers was a crackly version of Jingle Bells, Silent Night and It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year.  Or wait…maybe it is your fault, you sick sick man.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Nate says:

    You really thought about being a burnette? Awesome. I think you are so hilarious. Bye.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  2. To be quite honest, I don’t mind a little Christmas music every now and again. I used to work in an office with these two crazy girls, and when they where having a bad day and were in need of a quick fix, they popped in Frank Santra Christmas music. The swanky rhythm always made me bob my head, and sing along…even if it was no where near Christmas time. But I must say, that KFI commercials are the worst. They’re always annoying, and even though I don’t mind a Christmas carol or two in the middle of the year, I have a feeling that that particular commercial was super sucky.
    P.S. I love Dr Laura, she’s my favorite.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

