adding sass to life



to choose or not to choose

I do not follow celebrity gossip very often, but I overheard a conversation between 2 co-workers, we will call them Dick and Jane, in my office early Monday morning that I thought was interesting and thought provoking.  It was about

They were chatting about how Angelina had her twins the other day and how great it was that they had their own kids and adopted others. 

Jane: “Didn’t she go through in vitro fertilization so that they could be sure that could have twins, not because they couldn’t get pregnant, right?” 

Dick: “I don’t know, but if she did, that’s great!” 

Jane: “That’s terrible!  Shouldn’t you just be happy with what you get?”

Dick: “No, I think it’s great.  If she wanted twins, she should get twins!  I cannot wait until they make it available for everyone to choose the sex and the genes of their baby!  By doing that, are you not hopefully choosing the best life for your child, by picking the best possible traits?  It’s continuing on evolution, survival of the fittest.” 

Now, I realize, there are a lot of issues that could be discussed within this conversation.  I am curious, however, if the next time you are at your OB/GYN (or you are with your wife at the OB/GYN) and you tell her/him that you want to have a baby and they hand you a check list of traits for you to pick from for your future child, would you do it?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Courtney Brown says:

    absolutly not. God has a unique plan for each and every individual. He is the ultimate creator. Not man. we have faith in him that he will give us exactly what we need, when we need it. it is not man’s choice to take “creation” into our own hands.

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago
  2. I agree with Courtney. I did choose to know the sex of my baby when we did the ultrasound, but I think I would be uncomfortable with choosing the sex, or any traits that my baby would have. I do not think people are better at designing the human body than the creator. We would probably make some ugly babies thinking we knew what we were doing.

    Did Angelina really do in vitro to have twins?

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago


Leave a Reply

