adding sass to life



what’s in a name

You know what I think is funny?  I know you peoples are just DYING to know.  Well, it’s not really funny, like haha funny, but more interesting.  I hear parents deliberating for weeks, or even years on what to name their children, but after the child is born they rarely call him/her by that name, it is usually a shorted version or more of a pet name or a term of endearment.  The only time you really hear a your full name, it’s usually paired with your middle and your last and then you don’t even want to stick around to hear why.  You run.  Fast.   

My husband’s name is Nathaniel, he was called that until he was about 12 but then people started calling him Nate (but never Nathan…he hates that) and today his family calls him Natey. 

My sister’s name is Courtney.  I don’t think we’ve ever called her that…ever.  We call her Court, or Bug, or CourtBug. 

My name is Jamye.  My family called me Jame, or Mame, of Mamy-Jay or Sissy.  My friends called me James or Jamison. 

My brother’s name is Christopher.  My mom fought and fought against ANYONE calling him Chris.  “His name is CHRISTOPHER, not Chris!  I carried him inside of me for 9 months and pushed him out for 12 hours, I am his mother and you will NOT call him Chris.”  So, instead, people called him Topher, or Toph.  (Please don’t tell her, but I think his friends call him Chris.  She may hunt them down. (just kidding, mom!))

Our child cat’s name is Callie.  We call her Kaliki, Kopipi, Wussy, Pants, B*tch, and other inappropriate names. 

I am not apposed to nicknames, I think they are cute and they set you apart from other people that have your name.  I just think the whole thing is interesting.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Courtney Brown says:

    hahahaha. i laughed so hard when i was reading about toph!!! i love nicknames!!!!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Mom says:

    You make me smile!!!! I remember when you use to get so angry when we called you Jame. I never minded if people shortened your name or Court’s and you are right with Toph, I wanted everyone to call him Christopher. Let me know if you hear anyone calling him Chris I have my camo on:)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

