adding sass to life



slap in the face

August 27, 2008

So yesterday I was cranky, cranky ’cause my bladder infection, cranky ’cause my medicine was worse than my bladder infection, cranky ’cause my job is stressful, cranky ’cause ________ (just fill in the blank).  I was just one big ball of fun! 

I was having a pity party for myself, curled up watching TLC’s A Baby Story.  I don’t normally watch this show but it was the only thing that sorta peeked my interest. 

Here is the story….

There was a lady.  She wanted a baby.  Tried 5 years for one.  Finally got pregnant.  When she was 3 months pregnant she found out she had breast cancer.  She couldn’t do chemotherapy because of the fact that she was pregnant and she was not going to have an abortion in order for that to happen, however, she was on extremely strong medication that the doctors were not sure would harm the baby or not.  She was basically on bed rest for the next few months, sleeping constantly, and when she wasn’t sleeping, she was sick.  On top of this, she had a 5 year old little girl.  They decided to induce when she was 6 months pregnant and she gave birth to a healthy baby girl.  She kept saying, “God wouldn’t give me this miracle if he was going to let me die.  Even if I do, I am not going to waste the rest of my life crying and complaining.”  She started doing intensive chemotherapy and then found out that the cancer spread to her bones and liver.  She ended up passing away before her baby’s first birthday, leaving her husband with the two little ones. 

Hellllloooo!!!

What the heck am I complaining about?  Why am I moping around?  Why do I complain about stupid things that don’t even matter in life?  Why do I complain that I have a stressful job?  At least I have one!  I am healthy, my husband is healthy, I have a great family and friends.  I really do love my life.  I truly am thankful for every day that I have.  I guess I just needed a big reminder. 

Leave a Reply

