adding sass to life



i want that

September 8, 2008

You know those people who just know what they are supposed to do in life and who they are supposed to be and they just do it?  They never question it, they just know. 

Like my friend who knew that she wanted to be a teacher since she was 5 and all she ever wanted to do when we were little was “play school” and now she has her credentials and is a teacher.  Or my friend that knew from the time she was in 3rd grade that she wanted to work with the mentally challenged-that is what she does today. 

I am envious of those people.  Truly happy for them, but jealous in the same breath.

Every day I see babies.  I want to be a stay at home mom some day.

Every day I see the hurting.  I want to be involved in their healing process.

Every day I think about the people making life changing decisions alone, having nobody to turn to.  I want to be their listening ear.

Every day I see people who don’t care about how much money they make, they just do what they do because they love it.  I want to be like that.

Every day I feel I witness people who are doing what they have been created to do.  I want to do that. 

And yet, here I sit, at a job that I don’t love, that does not impact or change lives and really means nothing.  I could be replaced tomorrow.  Sometimes I wish I would be.  

My passion for people, healing, and restoration is not being accomplished in what I am doing. 

So why do it do it?

I ask myself that every day.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. I have been there and I wish I had something encouraging to say about it.

    Be confident that you were definitely created to do something great and God wont let his creation go to waste.

    Hang in there, thanks for your transparency.

    -jan

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Mom says:

    I didn’t go to college my paid jobs have been a cashier, gymnastics teacher and coach, house cleaner, substitute preschool teacher, day care provider, receptionist, caterer and last but not least a painter right now I’m a painter. I don’t like putting on my white work clothes and slinging a paint brush in fact I hate it most of the time. With that being said I love my life. I don’t know if that makes sense but it took me a long time to love my life. It’s not about what I do but who I am and the difference I make in peoples lives everyday. The stock clerk at the store who never smiles and every time I see her I call her by name and say “hi jennifer how are you today” or Ray the landscaper who works for peanuts, owns nothing and his breakfast is a budlite, I see him almost everyday and I stop and say “hey cowboy how are you today?” I get a toothless smile and a wave. I hope I have made a difference in their life today. I hope they see Jesus in me without me mentioning his name. Oh sweetie it not about what you do to bring in a paycheck but about who you are and the difference you make in peoples lives. I know you make a difference in people everyday without you knowing it. Weather you work for ADP or a non profit pregnancy, abuse, CPS…. organization you do make a difference. Like who you are not what you do. The only thing I would change about my life is to have my children live closer to me. I have a great life and you do too and remember YOU DO MAKE A DIFFERENCE in peoples lives EVERYDAY you do in my life everytime I think about you. I love you more then you know.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  3. * sassyjaxx says:

    thank you, mom.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Blackened Dove says:

    Ok Jamye… I haven’t read them all yet, but I think I’ve read enough. You are another me. Or I’m another you? Either way, we are too alike! I’d love to chat with you someday. It would be fun. ^_^

    ~Blackened Dove

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

