adding sass to life



childish games

September 29, 2008

This weekend, I was opened up and stuffed completely full of football to the point of my seams bursting.  Now, I love my husband dearly and every minute I was watching football we were together, so at least I wasn’t watching it alone.  And I did have an epiphany this weekend too-when it is cold, and rainy and windy I have no problem cuddling up on the couch and sleeping watching football but when it is sunny and beautiful out I feel like a big fat pillow is over my face and I am suffocating, struggling and eventually dying.

On Saturday we went to the Rose Bowl to watch UCLA play Fresno State.   

That was fun even though they lost.  But Sunday was when I hit my breaking point.  I couldn’t take it anymore.  Maybe it was because I enjoy college football more than NFL and there isn’t any college football on on Sundays.  Or maybe it was because I didn’t want to sit in the house.  Or maybe because I was acting like a spoiled brat.  Or maybe…okay, so yes, it’s the latter.  So I went shopping to drown my football sorrows in pumpkin scented candles and gorgeous Italian black leather boots.  But I came home in the same funk.  Here is the conversation that transpired as I was pouting on the couch. 

Nate:  Sweetie, what’s wrong?  Are you mad at me?  Here, I’ll turn off football.

Me:  No, it’s fine.  Watch it.  I don’t care.

Nate:  We have watched a lot of football this weekend.  It has really been a dudes weekend.  What do you want to do tonight? 

Me:  Nothing.

Nate:  No really.  Whatever you want to do.

Me:  I don’t know.  Nothing.

Nate:  Okay, well you let me know.

Me:  I want to play a game.

Nate:  Okay, what game?

Me:  I don’t know.

(I just sound so delightful)

Nate:  Okay, well we have games in the guest room.  Let’s go pick one out.

Me:  I don’t want to play any of those.

(You all didn’t know that we had a 3 1/2 year old living with us)

Nate:  Babe, I am really trying here.

Me:  I want to go to Target and buy a game.  A game like….Monopoly.  I don’t know how to play that game, but it sounds fun.  Let’s go buy it.

So my lovely husband took me to Target and we bought Monopoly. 

We played.  Had fun.  I took all of his money and won.  That’s my kind of night.  I love you, Husband.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Spiderman says:

    Love of my life,

    I would go to the ends of the earth to make you happy. You make me so happy in so many ways. I loved going to the game with you and I loved every minute of our weekend. I enjoyed our conversation about the mess we feel inside. You can take my money anytime. In fact take all of my money. Pass GO and collect all of your husbands money. I love you.

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago


Leave a Reply

