adding sass to life



when i grow up

April 21, 2009

What did you want to be when you grew up?  An actor?  A model?  A teacher?  A biologist?  A taxidermist?  Well, since you asked me, I wanted to be a garbage man, a stripper and a stay at home mom all wrapped up into one neat little package.  I had great reasons for job #1 and #3 but #2?  I have no idea.  Maybe because they make good tips?  But let me just tell you-if my dreams did come true I’d be one HOT garbage pickin’ up, strip dancin’, stay at home mom!  That’s for darn sure!

I remember being young and looking out one of our front windows watching the garbage truck come barreling up the hill and the totally awesome garbage man (while the truck was moving) would hang off the back of the truck, reach down with one hand, grab the trash can, swing it up, empty it and set it back down on the ground all in one swift motion.  It could have been an olympic sport, seriously.  It was incredible!  Who cares about the rotten milk, cat crap and dirty, moldy hair balls-you get to hang off the back of a truck!  Totally worth it!

As for being a stay at home mom?  Well my mom was one and I wanted to be like her.

I look at my life today, is it perfect?  No.  Do I wish that I loved what I did for a living?  Yes.  Is there stress?  Yes.  Do I cry?  Yes.  Can it be difficult?  Yes.  But, man, I am pretty gosh darn blessed.  I have a husband who loves me and thinks I’m hot stuff, a cat who sleeps on my face at night, a warm and beautiful home and the dreams of a family someday.  I’ve been able to travel the world with friends and loved ones, been places that people only dream of seeing.  I’ve seen relationships restored and hearts healed.  I’d take that any day over a strippin, garbage pickin’ stay at home mom.

Leave a Reply

