adding sass to life



proof that my husband knows me…well

May 5, 2009

Set scene:

In the self check out line at the grocery store purchasing orange juice and chicken noodle soup for my sicky husband.

Nate:  Babe!  Did you see this?  Look it’s Jon and Kate Plus 8 on the front of US Weekly!  Jon’s with another woman!

Me: (as I’m scanning my items) WHAT?  No way!  That can’t be true!

Nate:  Well, it says it here and there are pictures too.  Here, buy it.  You know you want to read it.

Me:  No, I’m not spending $3.99 on that crap.

Nate:  It’s gonna bug you until you read it.  Just get it.

Me: (as I walk over to the magazine rack and begin reading the article)  No, I don’t need to read this gossip.  Oh my gosh!  He was with her at a club…!!

Nate:  Here, give it to me.  I’ll buy it for you.  You can’t stand here and read the 4 page article.

Me:  No.  I don’t want it.  

Me: (walking out of the store and into the car)  I should have bought it.

Nate: (rolling his eyes)  I told you!

Me:  No, it’s okay.  I’ll find it online.

*It’s not online, by the way*

The next day I went to the store JUST TO BUY THE MAGAZINE, but picked up a bottle of soda too just so I didn’t look like a total gossip addict.  Just a diet soda addict.

On the phone leaving the store.

Nate: Hi sweetie.  What are you doing?

Me: Oh just leaving the store.

Nate:  You went back just for the magazine, didn’t you?

Me:  I couldn’t help it!  I had a dream about it last night!  I had to know!  I couldn’t live today if I didn’t know what the article said!

Nate:  I told you that you should have bought it yesterday.  

Me:  Yea, yea.  

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Nate Jack says:

    I love you! You are the greatest writer! By the way did you see in the news that he isn’t cheating!??! I miss you! Bye!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  2. * allie says:

    So I found your blog off of Beckey’s blog and I think you’re absolutely hilarious!! And then I realized that you’re married to Nate and I know Nate from the good ol’ Biola and Render days, but I think you and I have only met a few times. So sorry if this seems a little impersonal. I just wanted to let you know that I think you’re funny! And tell Nate that Matt and Allie said “hi”!

    allie

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Drazen says:

    Dear Jamye (I had to copy&paste this, just in case 🙂 ) , I don’t really know how I ended up on your blog (I’m lying, I know – it was because of the pic haha), but I did take time and read some of your entries, and I must say that you are one fine writer. I really liked your style and interesting way you address various things (by the way, the piece with gossip magazine was just hilarious 🙂 )
    In fact, I liked your posts so much that I bookmarked your blog and I hope to find more great writing from you.

    Greetings from Croatia 🙂

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

